Cover Your Tracks Online

This site includes the Website Exit tab on the left of the screen, to help you cover your tracks if you need to quickly hide your activity. You can also use the keyboard shortcut alt+shift+x on a computer (not a mobile device).
This will launch the BBC News website page and hide the 'back' option to return to this site, in most browser versions.
However, it does not remove your visit from the CambsDASV website from your browser history.  To cover you tracks more thoroughly, please read on...

Your browsing history is the information that is remembered and stored on a PC or mobile device as you browse the web. This can include sites that you've visited, information you've entered into forms and passwords.  It is intended to help make your browsing experience better but there may be times when you might not want your history remembered; if you are using a shared or public PC or mobile device or if you are worried about someone knowing about the websites you have visited, including this one.

Warning: there is no way to completely cover your online activity but there are things you can do to help:

  • You could access the internet using a completely different computer or mobile device, either at a local library, internet cafe, a friend's house or at school/work or college.
* Don’t add these website address to your bookmarks and don't select to save passwords.
 
Websites that you have visited are stored on your computer as 'temporary internet files' and 'cookies'.  
  • If you know what browser you are using, see the relevant instructions for deleting your browser history.
  • If you do not know the type of browser you are using:
    • click on Help on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen.
    • A drop down menu will appear, the last entry will say About Internet Explorer, About Mozilla Firefox, or something similar. The entry refers to which browser type you are using - you should then refer to the relevant instructions below.
Stored passwords
Your browser can store passwords to save you time, but these can also used by someone to access your account. When you first use a password on a site you will be asked if you want the browser to remember it - click no, or browse in Private Mode. However, accidents happen and you may accidentally allow a password to be saved. You can delete saved passwords either as part of your history removal or separately, depending on your browser (see deleting your browser history)
 
NB. Removing all passwords may be suspicious if you share a computer.
 
Information Sources: Microsoft, Woman's Aid
Women's Aid have joined with Facebook to write a guide to online safety - you can download the guide below.